- History - Index by Region
HumanitiesWeb HumanitiesWeb
Regions Alphabetically Nationality Timelines Topics Glossary

Sort by Region
Sort Alphabetically
Sort by Nationality


Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

& etc

All Rights Reserved.

Site last updated
28 October, 2012
Real Time Analytics

British Prime Ministers
Background - United Kingdom
Government - United Kingdom
Monarchs of Britain
Monarchs of the Early British Kingdoms and Scotland

Decrees of Hlothhere and Eadric
Decrees of ∆thelbert
Notitia Dignitatum - Partibus Occidentis
Decrees of Withred
Magna Carta
(15 June 1215)
English Bill of Rights
Roman Britain
(43 - 410)
The reshaping of the primitive culture of the British Celts - from the Claudian invasion of 43 to the early 5th century (when Rome is no longer able to hold the Empire)

Anglo-Saxon England
(410 - 1065)
Consolidation of power into 7 or 8 kingdoms - the Heptarchy, conversion of 'Angle' land by missionaries sent by Pope Gregory, and Viking invasions make this a period of great change.

Medieval Britain
(1066 - 1487)
This period begins with the Norman conquest, and the creation of a strong centralised monarchy. The Magna Carta codifies law, and feudalism is phased out with the growth of cities and the limitation of the royal prerogative under Henry III

Reformation & Restoration
(1486 - 1713)
Objections to doctrines and practices in the medieval church lead to the Reformation in the 16th century, following through to the re-establishment of the monarchy with the accession of Charles II in 1660.

The Age of Empire
(1714 - 1901)
Covering the decline of royal absolutism, the triumph of Parliament, colonial expansion, and the Industrial Revolution.

Early 20th Century
(1900 - 1952)
From Edward VII through George VI - the modernization of the monarchy and two world wars.