- Theodore Roethke - Lost Son [Chronology]
HumanitiesWeb HumanitiesWeb
Periods Alphabetically Nationality Topics Themes Genres Glossary

Selected Works
Suggested Reading
Related Materials


Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

& etc

All Rights Reserved.

Site last updated
28 October, 2012
Real Time Analytics

Theodore Roethke
(1908 - 1963)

1908 Born 25 May in Saginaw, Michigan, to Otto and Helen Huebner Roethke
1929 Graduates (A.B.) from University of Michigan
1930 Attends Harvard Graduate School
1936 Receives M.A. from University of Michigan
1941 Open House published
1945 Wins Guggenheim Fellowship (again in 1950)
1948 The Lost Son and Other Poems published
1951 Praise to the End! published
1952 Awarded Ford Foundation grant (again in 1959)
1953 3 January Marries Beatrice O'connell
1953 The Waking, Poems published
1954 Awarded Pulitzer Prize (for The Waking)
1955 Recieves Fulbright grant
1957 The Exorcism published
1958 Words for the Wind published
1959 Wins Bollingen Prize and National Book Award for Words for the Wind
1961 I Am! Says the Lamb published
1962 Wins Shelly Memorial Award
1963 Party at the Zoo and Sequence, Sometimes Metaphysical published (posth.)
1963 Suffers a stroke and dies while swimming on 1 August in Bainbridge Island, Washington
1964 The Far Field published (posth.)
1965 On the Poet and His Craft published (posth.)
1965 The Far Field wins National Book Award
1966 The Collected Poems of Theodore Roethke published (posth.)
1972 Straw for the Fire, From the Notebooks of Theodore Roethke published (posth.)

Terms Defined

Referenced Works