- The Immortal William Shakespeare [Chronology]
HumanitiesWeb HumanitiesWeb
Periods Alphabetically Nationality Topics Themes Genres Glossary

Selected Works
According To...
Suggested Reading
Other Resources
Related Materials


Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

& etc

All Rights Reserved.

Site last updated
28 October, 2012
Real Time Analytics

William Shakespeare
(1564 - 1616)

1564 Baptised 26 April, at Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire (birthday traditionally celebrated 23 April)
1582 Marries Anne Hathaway
1583 Daughter Susanna is born
1585 William and Anne's twins are born, Hamnet and Judith
1589 1 Henry VI
1590 2 Henry VI, 3 Henry VI
1592 Richard III, The Comedy of Errors
1593 Titus Andronicus, The Taming of the Shrew
1593 Begins writing his sonnets (written 1593-99)
1594 The Two Gentlemen of Verona, Love's Labour's Lost, King John
1594 Joins Lord Chamberlain's Company of players
1595 Richard II, Romeo and Juliet, A Midsummer Night's Dream
1596 The Merchant of Venice, I Henry IV
1596 Hamnet dies
1597 The Merry Wives of Windsor
1597 Purchases New Place
1598 2 Henry IV, Much Ado About Nothing
1599 Henry V, Julius Caesar, As You Like It
1600 Hamlet
1601 Twelfth Night, Troilus and Cressida
1601 Father dies
1602 All's Well that Ends Well
1604 Measure for Measure, Othello
1605 King Lear
1606 Macbeth, Antony and Cleopatra
1607 Coriolanus, Timon of Athens, Pericles
1608 Mother dies
1609 Cymbeline; unauthorised publication of Sonnets
1610 The Winter's Tale
1611 The Tempest
1612 Henry VIII
1616 Dies 23 April, Stratford-upon-Avon

Terms Defined

Referenced Works