- The Dramatic Voice of John Masefield [Chronology]
HumanitiesWeb HumanitiesWeb
Periods Alphabetically Nationality Topics Themes Genres Glossary

Selected Works
Suggested Reading
Related Materials


Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

& etc

All Rights Reserved.

Site last updated
28 October, 2012
Real Time Analytics

John Masefield
(1878 - 1967)

1878 Born 1 June in Ledbury, Herefordshire
1884 Mother dies
1890 Father suffers mental breakdown, dies in 1891
1891 At the age of 13, Masefield is sent away to train for a life at sea
1894 Serves an apprenticeship on the Gilcruix
1895 Deserts ship in NY, works at various jobs
1897 Returns to England and is employed as a bank clerk
1901 Meets future wife, Constance Crommelin
1902 Salt-Water Ballads published
1908 Captain Margaret published
1909 Multitude and Solitude published
1909 The Tragedy of Nan published
1910 The Tragedy of Pompey the Great published
1911 The Everlasting Mercy published
1912 Wins Edmund de Polignac prize
1913 Dauber published
1914 Enlists with Red Cross during World War I
1918 Second US lecture tour
1919 Reynard the Fox published
1923 Organised the Oxford Recitations
1924 Sard Harker published
1926 Odtaa published
1930 Named poet laureate
1935 Awarded the Order of Merit
1937 Elected President of the Society of Authors
1940 Basilissa published
1941 In the Mill published
1952 So Long to Learn published
1960 Constance dies
1967 Dies near Abingdon, Berkshire, 12 May from complications of gangrene

Terms Defined

Referenced Works