- Bret Harte - The Voice of the West [Chronology]
HumanitiesWeb HumanitiesWeb
Periods Alphabetically Nationality Topics Themes Genres Glossary

Selected Works
Suggested Reading
Related Materials


Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

& etc

All Rights Reserved.

Site last updated
28 October, 2012
Real Time Analytics

Bret Harte
(1835 - 1902)

1839 Born Francis Bret Hart on 25 August in Albany, NY
1845 Father changes name to Harte, dies shortly after
1847 First poems published
1854 Moves to California with mother
1857 Works at Northern California
1860 Works as a columnist at the San Francisco Golden Era
1862 Marries Anna Griswold
1864 Appointed Secretary of the United States Branch Mint at San Francisco; meets Mark Twain
1867 The Lost Galleon and Other Tales and Condensed Novels published
1868 Is the first editor of the Overland Monthly
1870 Plain Language from Truthful James published
1870 The Luck of Roaring Camp and Plain Language from Truthful James published
1871 Poems and East and West Poems published
1871 Moves to New York, later to Boston
1872 Stories of the Sierras and The Little Drummer published
1873 Mrs. Skaggs's Husbands published
1875 Tales of the Argonauts and Echoes of the Foot-Hills published
1876 Wan Lee: The Pagan, Two Men of Sandy Bar and Gabriel Conroy published
1877 Thankful Blossom published
1877 Writes play Ah Sin with Mark Twain
1878 The Story of a Mine and Drift from Two Shores published
1878 Appointed United States Counsul at Crefeld, Germany
1879 The Twins of Table Mountain published
1880 Poetical Works published
1880 Is transferred to Glasgow, Scotland
1882 Flip and Found at Blazing Star published
1883 In the Carquinez Woods published
1884 On the Frontier published
1885 By Shore and Sedge and Maruja published
1885 Retires to London
1886 The Queen of the Pirate Isle and Snow-Bound at Eagle's published
1887 The Crusade of the Excelsior and A Millionaire of Rough-and-Ready published
1888 A Phyllis of the Sierras and The Argonauts of North Liberty published
1889 Cressy and The Heritage of Dedlow Marsh published
1890 A Ward of the Golden Gate and A Waif of the Plains published
1891 A Sappho of Green Springs and A First Family of Tasajara published
1892 Colonel Starbottle's Client published
1893 Susy: A Story of the Plains and Sally Dows published
1894 A Protégée of Jack Hamlin's and The Bell-Ringer of Angel's published
1895 Clarence and In a Hollow of the Hills published
1896 Poetical Works of Bret Harte and Barker's Luck and Other Stories published
1897 Three Partners published
1898 Some Later Verses, Tales of Trail and Town and Stories in Light and Shadow published
1899 Mr. Jack Hamlin's Meditation and The Complete Poetical Works published
1900 From Sand Hill to Pine published
1901 Under the Redwoods published
1902 Condensed Novels: Second Series, Sue: A Play in Three Acts and Openings in the Old Trail published
1902 Dies 6 May in Camberely, England
1903 Trent's Trust published

Terms Defined

Referenced Works